The Council, which is the highest governance organ, is responsible for coordinating the administration of justice, formulating policies and spearheading the reform agenda in the administration of justice. In its functions, the Council is supported by four sub-committees namely; Executive, Finance and Administration, Communication and Information Management, and Administration of Justice and Implementation committees. The Council is also supported by a Technical Committee comprising of technical persons from the agencies. To realize its mandate, the Council meets at least once every three months.

State Actors


Chief Justice
Chief Registrar – Secretary

Kenya Prisons Service

Commissioner of Prisons

Ministry of Justice

Cabinet Secretary responsible for matters relating to the Judiciary

Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Development

Principal Secretary responsible for matters relating to gender, children and women’s affairs

Ministry of Environment and Mineral Resources, Ministry of Lands

Principal Secretaries responsible for matters relating to labour, environment and land Ministry of Labour

National Police Service

Person responsible for exercising command over the National Police Service

Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions

Director of Public Prosecutions

Office of the President (Cabinet Office)

Principal Secretary responsible for matters relating to Cabinet and the Public Service

Probation and Aftercare Service

Director of the Probation and Aftercare Service

State Law Office


Witness Protection Agency

Director of the Witness Protection Agency

Co-opted members & non-state actors

Commission on Administrative Justice


Community Service Orders Programme


Equality Now

Executive Director

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission

Director Legal Affairs

Kenya Association of Manufacturers

Chief Executive Officer

Kenya Law Reform Commission


Kenya Human Rights Commission

Executive Director

Kenya National Commission of Human Rights


Kenya Private Sector Alliance

Chief Executive Officer

Legal Resources Foundation

Executive Director

Ministry of Defense

Cabinet Secretary

National Council for Law Reporting

Executive Editor

The Cradle

Executive Director
Skip to content